Profilbild Gläuffig

Gläuffig

Masterly playing on the cusp between folk music traditions and innovative ideas is the trademark of the “Gläuffig” ensemble. Rather like circus artistes for whom gravity does not seem to exist, Gläuffig juggles with Alpine folk music, familiar patterns and common clichés. Sometimes the results are light-footed and playful, at other times down-to-earth, indeed almost earthy, but always with lots of musicality and a sheer joy in performing.

Mathias Landtwing (clarinet), Fränggi Gehrig (accordion), Lukas Gernet (piano) and Pirmin Huber (double bass) came together in 2008 to form Gläuffig. They all have their musical roots in folk music, though they completed their music studies at the Lucerne University of Arts in different fields (folk music, jazz, classical music and composition) and have all developed into virtuoso instrumentalists. They are also all aware of their origins, and while they want to give traditional music a new substance and a new interpretative guise, they still want to treat folk music culture with the respect that it deserves. The ensemble’s repertoire ranges from traditional ländler music in the style of the legendary band “Heirassa” to modern, more advanced folk music.

Gläuffig regularly performs at concerts and renowned festivals. It has been a guest at the Zurich Tonhalle Festival for new folk music entitled “Stubete am See” (“folk jam session by the lake”), at the Jazz Night and the Accordion Festival in Zug, at the Alpenklang Festival at the Paul Klee Centre in Bern, at the Alpentöne Festival in Altdorf, and at the Suisse Diagonales Jazz Festival in Lucerne.

Gläuffig:
Mathias Landtwing, clarinet
Fränggi Gehrig, accordion
Pirmin Huber, double bass
Lukas V. Gernet, piano

Friends:
Andi Gabriel, violin
Christoph Pfändler, dulcimer
Dominik Flückiger, schwyzerörgeli
Fredy Reichmuth, accordion, schwyzerörgeli, piano

Concerts

Profilbild Gläuffig

Gläuffig

Das gekonnte Spiel im Grenzbereich von Volksmusiktradition und innovativen Ideen ist das Markenzeichen der Formation «Gläuffig». Ähnlich wie Artisten, bei denen die Schwerkraft nicht zu existieren scheint, jongliert die Band «Gläuffig» mit der alpenländischen Volksmusik, mit bekannten Mustern und gängigen Klischees. Das klingt mal leichtfüssig und verspielt, mal bodenständig und fast derb, jedoch immer gepaart mit einem hohen Mass an Musikalität und Spielfreude.

Als «Gläuffig» haben sich Mathias Landtwing (Klarinette), Fränggi Gehrig (Akkordeon), Lukas Gernet (Klavier) und Pirmin Huber (Bass) im Jahr 2008 zusammengefunden. Bei ihnen allen gründen die musikalischen Wurzeln in der Volksmusik, obwohl sie die Ausbildung an der Hochschule Luzern in unterschiedlichen Studienrichtungen abgeschlossen (Volksmusik, Jazz, Klassik, Komposition) und sich zu virtuosen Instrumentalisten entwickelt haben. Sich der eigenen Herkunft bewusst, wollen sie traditionelle Musik interpretatorisch und substanziell in ein neues Kleid fassen, dem Kulturgut Volksmusik jedoch die gebotene Sorgfalt erweisen. Das Repertoire der Formation reicht von traditioneller Ländlermusik im Stile der legendären Kapelle «Heirassa» bis zu moderner, weiterentwickelter Volksmusik.

«Gläuffig» tritt regelmässig bei Konzerten und im Rahmen von renommierten Festivals auf. So war die Formation unter anderem Gast am Tonhalle-Festival für neue Volksmusik «Stubete am See», an der Jazz Night und am Akkordeonfestival Zug, am Alpenklang-Festival im Zentrum Paul Klee Bern, am Festival «Alpentöne» in Altdorf, am Suisse Diagonales Jazz Festival in Luzern.

Gläuffig
Mathias Landtwing, Klarinette
Fränggi Gehrig, Akkordeon
Pirmin Huber, Kontrabass
Lukas V. Gernet, Klavier

Friends
Andi Gabriel, Geige
Christoph Pfändler, Hackbrett
Dominik Flückiger, Schwyzerörgeli
Fredy Reichmuth, Akkordeon, Schwyzerörgeli, Klavier

Konzerte