Rolando Villazón

Rolando Villazón

Through his uniquely compelling performances in leading opera houses and with orchestras around the world, Rolando Villazón has firmly established himself as one of the music world’s most critically acclaimed and beloved stars and as one of the leading tenors of our time. Rolando Villazón is among the most versatile artists of today, maintaining successful careers as a stage director, novelist, and TV personality next to his on-stage career.

Born in Mexico City, he began his musical studies at the national conservatory of his home country before joining the junior programmes at the opera houses in Pittsburgh and at the San Francisco Opera. Rolando Villazón quickly made a name for himself on the international music scene after winning several prizes at Plácido Domingo’s “Operalia” competition in 1999 (including the Zarzuela Prize and the Audience Prize). This was followed in the same year by his European debut as Des Grieux in Massenet’s “Manon” in Genoa and debuts as Alfredo in “La Traviata” at the Opéra de Paris and as Macduff in Verdi’s “Macbeth” at the Berlin State Opera. Since then, Rolando Villazón has been a regular guest at the State Operas of Berlin, Munich and Vienna, La Scala Milan, the Royal Opera House Covent Garden, the Metropolitan Opera New York and the Salzburg Festival, working with leading orchestras and renowned conductors such as Daniel Barenboim and Yannick Nézet-Séguin. In 2011 Rolando Villazón made his debut as a director in Lyon and since then has directed for the Festspielhaus Baden-Baden, the Deutsche Oper Berlin, the Deutsche Oper am Rhein in Düsseldorf, the Vienna Volksoper and the Semperoper in Dresden.

In the 2021-22 season he is returning to the Metropolitan Opera in New York for the role of Papageno in Mozart’s “Magic Flute” and is touring throughout Europe with the harpist Xavier de Maistre and their recital programme “Serenata Latina”, with performances at the Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, the Musikverein in Graz, the Konzerthaus in Freiburg and the Liederhalle in Stuttgart. Rolando Villazón celebrated his 50th birthday with a high-profile benefit gala concert on 21 February 2022 at the Haus für Mozart in Salzburg. He will end the current season by directing “Il Barbiere di Siviglia” at both the Salzburg Whitsun Festival and the 2022 Salzburg Festival.

Concerts

Saturday, 27.5.2023
19:30

Rolando Villazón

Rolando Villazón

Durch seine fesselnden Auftritte auf den renommiertesten Bühnen und Konzertsälen der Welt hat sich Rolando Villazón als einer der führenden Tenöre der Gegenwart etabliert und gilt heute als einer der vielseitigsten Künstler überhaupt: neben seiner Bühnenkarriere ist Rolando Villazón auch als Regisseur, Schriftsteller und TV-Persönlichkeit bekannt und ist Intendant der Mozartwoche Salzburg.

Geboren in Mexico City begann er seine musikalischen Studien am nationalen Konservatorium seines Heimatlandes, bevor er Mitglied der Nachwuchsprogramme an den Opernhäusern in Pittsburgh und San Francisco Opera wurde. Rolando Villazón machte sich in der internationalen Musikszene rasch einen Namen, nachdem er 1999 mehrere Preise bei Plácido Domingos «Operalia»-Wettbewerb gewann (u.a. den Zarzuela-Preis und den Zuschauerpreis). Noch im gleichen Jahr folgte sein europäisches Debüt als Des Grieux in Massenets «Manon» in Genua sowie Debüts als Alfredo in «La Traviata» an der Opéra de Paris und als Macduff in Verdis «Macbeth» an der Staatsoper Berlin. Seitdem ist Rolando Villazón regelmässiger Gast an den Staatsopern in Berlin, München und Wien, der Mailänder Scala, dem Royal Opera House Covent Garden, der Metropolitan Opera New York sowie den Salzburger Festspielen und arbeitet mit führenden Orchestern und namhaften Dirigenten wie Daniel Barenboim und Yannick Nézet-Séguin, zusammen. 2011 debütierte Rolando Villazón als Regisseur in Lyon und inszenierte seither für das Festspielhaus Baden-Baden, die Deutsche Oper Berlin, die Deutsche Oper am Rhein Düsseldorf, die Wiener Volksoper und die Semperoper in Dresden.

Die Spielzeit 2021-22 beginnt für den Tenor auf der Opernbühne der Metropolitan Opera in New York in der Rolle des Papageno in Mozarts «Zauberflöte». Es folgt eine Tour mit dem Harfenisten Xavier de Maistre und deren Liederabendprogramm «Serenata Latina», mit Auftritten in der Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, dem Musikverein in Graz, dem Konzerthaus in Freiburg und der Liederhalle in Stuttgart. Rolando Villazón feiert mit einem hochkarätigen Benefiz-Galakonzert am 21. Februar 2022 im Haus für Mozart in Salzburg seinen 50. Geburtstag. Zum Abschluss der Saison inszeniert er «Il Barbiere di Siviglia» bei den Pfingstfestspielen Salzburg sowie bei den Salzburger Festspielen 2022.

Konzerte

Samstag, 27.5.2023
19:30