Wednesday, 1.1.2025
5.00 pm

Flauto Favoloso

NEW YEAR’S CONCERT

Maurice Steger, recorder
Swiss Orchestra
Lena-Lisa Wüstendörfer, conductor

In this New Year’s Concert, the recorder player Maurice Steger and the Swiss Orchestra will whirl us into the New Year with a bang. You can expect to start 2025 with a musical surprise and some of the best-loved New-Year classics!

Prices: CHF 135 / 105 / 85 / 60 / 45

Programme

Joseph Franz Xaver Dominik Stalder:
Symphony in E-flat major

Anton Heberle:
Concerto for recorder and orchestra in G major

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart:
Divertimento in F major K. 522 (A musical joke)

Antonio Vivaldi:
Concerto for recorder in G major op. 10/6 RV 437

Fabian Müller:
Fantasia folcloristica

Johann Strauss (Son):
Tik-Tak Polka

Johann Strauss (Father):
Radetzky March

About the programme

When you compose music according to classical rules, you need a thorough knowledge of counterpoint, its techniques and principles. The voice-leading has to be logical and singable, you should avoid excessive, unpleasant leaps, and you should make sure that the voices are all well balanced. Parallel fifths and octaves between two voices are forbidden, it’s essential to treat the leading notes correctly, and harmonic progressions and chord changes have to be logical and tonally satisfying; you should employ different possibilities for motivic development (such as repetition, variation and contrast); and of course rhythm, form, dynamics, articulation, tone colour and expression also have to keep the listener interested. Mostly importantly: despite all the rules, you have to stay supple and flexible, otherwise your work won’t sound inspired at all, and you’ll run the risk of being mocked by Mozart himself. For in his Divertimento K. 522, entitled A musical joke, Mozart took aim at all those amateur composers who lacked the necessary technical skills and musical imagination.

In this satire on the symphony, Mozart plays with his audience’s expectations. Much of the music here sounds clumsy, unimaginative, oblique and off-kilter. It’s also too slow – having been adjusted to the abilities of his musicians – while the horns don’t hit the right notes, and the most important theme in the trio of the second movement is a scale spanning two octaves. To be sure, compositional techniques, styles and tastes have changed over the centuries, but all the composers featured in the New Year’s Concert of the Swiss Orchestra were masters of their craft and at the height of their powers. This applies as much to the early Classical composer Joseph Franz Xaver Dominik Stalder from Lucerne as to the Venetian Baroque hero Antonio Vivaldi, to Anton Heberle (about whose biography we know little more than that he is said to have invented a walking-stick-cum-recorder in Vienna), and to Johann Strauss, both father and son of the same name (though certain purists might disagree with their inclusion here). Maurice Steger excels on the recorder, demonstrating just how beautiful in tone, delicate, clear and pure this instrument is, which on account of its more recent use in early music education is probably just about the most underestimated instrument in music history. The fabulous recorder – flauto favoloso – will thus be ringing in 2025 in Andermatt. Happy New Year!

Subscription

A subscription for ANDERMATT MUSIC gives you direct access to regular classical events in Switzerland’s highest-lying concert hall, and means you don’t have to miss any highlights.

About us

ANDERMATT MUSIC stands for high-quality music events off the beaten track, and convinces through its innovative, versatile concert programming.

FAQ

Do you have any questions about purchasing tickets, subscriptions, travel or staying at the Andermatt Concert Hall? Here you will find answers to frequently asked questions.

Mittwoch, 1.1.2025
17.00 Uhr

Flauto Favoloso

NEUJAHRSKONZERT

Maurice Steger, Blockflöte
Swiss Orchestra
Lena-Lisa Wüstendörfer, Leitung

Im Neujahrskonzert wirbelt der Flötist Maurice Steger gemeinsam mit dem Swiss Orchestra schwungvoll ins neue Jahr. Es erwartet Sie ein überraschender musikalischer Start ins 2025, bei dem auch der ein oder andere Neujahrsklassiker nicht fehlen wird.

Preise: CHF 135 / 105 / 85 / 60 / 45

Programm

Joseph Franz Xaver Dominik Stalder:
Sinfonie Es-Dur

Anton Heberle:
Konzert für Blockflöte und Orchester G-Dur

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart:
Divertimento F-Dur KV 522 («Ein musikalischer Spass»)

Antonio Vivaldi:
Konzert für Blockflöte G-Dur op. 10/6 RV 437

Fabian Müller:
Fantasia folcloristica

Johann Strauss (Sohn):
Tik-Tak Polka

Johann Strauss (Vater):
Radetzky-Marsch

Über das Programm

Das Komponieren nach klassischen Regeln der Kunst erfordert gründliche Kenntnisse der musikalischen Kontrapunkttechniken und -prinzipien. Bitte achten Sie beim Schreiben von Musik darauf, dass die Stimmführung logisch und sangbar ist, vermeiden Sie zu grosse und unangenehme Sprünge und vergewissern Sie sich, dass die Stimmen untereinander gut ausbalanciert sind; Quint- und Oktavparallelen zwischen den Stimmen sind verboten, die richtige Behandlung von Leittönen wird vorausgesetzt; harmonische Fortschreitungen und Akkordwechsel müssen logisch und klanglich befriedigend sein; nutzen Sie verschiedene motivische Verarbeitungsmöglichkeiten wie Wiederholung, Variierung oder Kontrast; selbstverständlich sind auch Rhythmus, Form, Dynamik, Artikulation, Klangfarbe und Ausdruckskraft interessant zu gestalten. Und das Wichtigste: Bleiben Sie trotz all der Regeln schön geschmeidig, ansonsten wird das nichts mit einem inspirierten Werk und Sie laufen Gefahr, von Mozart höchst persönlich verspottet zu werden: Denn dieser hat in seinem Divertimento KV 522 namens «Ein musikalischer Spass» genau jene dilettierenden Komponisten aufs Korn genommen, denen es an technischen Fertigkeiten und an musikalischer Eingebungskraft mangelte.

In seiner Persiflage auf die Gattung Sinfonie spielte Mozart mit Erwartungen: Vieles klingt grobschlächtig, ideenlos, schräg und verquer, ist zu langsam – und damit wohl den Fähigkeiten seiner Musiker angepasst –, die Hörner treffen die Töne nicht und das wichtigste Thema im Trio des zweiten Satzes ist eine Tonleiter über zwei Oktaven. Natürlich ändern sich Kompositionstechniken, Stile und Geschmäcker im Laufe der Jahrhunderte, aber sämtliche Komponisten des Neujahrskonzerts mit dem Swiss Orchestra waren auf der Höhe ihrer Zeit und beherrschten ihr Handwerk: Dies gilt für den frühklassischen Luzerner Komponisten Joseph Franz Xaver Dominik Stalder ebenso wie für den venezianischen Barockhelden Antonio Vivaldi, für Anton Heberle, über dessen Leben nicht viel mehr bekannt ist, als dass er in Wien eine Spazierstockblockflöte erfunden haben soll, und – obwohl den Beiden das von Manchen gerne abgesprochen würde – auch für Johann Strauss und dessen gleichnamigen Sohn. An der Blockflöte brilliert Maurice Steger und zeigt, wie klangschön, filigran, klar und rein jenes ‹dank› frühmusikalischer Bildung wohl meistunterschätzte Instrument der Musikgeschichte klingen kann. Flauto Favoloso also – auf ein Gutes 2025!

Abonnements

Mit einem Abonnement für ANDERMATT MUSIC kommen Sie ganz einfach zu regelmässigen Klassikerlebnissen in der Andermatt Konzerthalle und verpassen kein Highlight mehr.

Über uns

ANDERMATT MUSIC steht für qualitativ hochwertigen Musikgenuss jenseits festgetretener Pfade und überzeugt durch innovative und vielseitige Konzerterlebnisse.

FAQ

Sie haben Fragen zum Ticketkauf, den Abonnements, zur Anreise oder zum Aufenthalt in der Andermatt Konzerthalle? Hier erhalten Sie Antworten auf häufig gestellte Fragen.