Profilbild Swiss Orchestra

Swiss Orchestra

In 2022 in Andermatt — a famous intersection on the Gotthard railway, in the middle of the Swiss Alps and thus well-nigh predestined to be a site of cultural exchange — the Swiss Orchestra is moving into its new home as the orchestra in residence at the local Concert Hall. The Swiss Orchestra is made up of first-class instrumentalists aged between 25 and 45 who have all played in prestigious symphonic and chamber ensembles. This dynamic ensemble sees itself as an orchestra for the whole of Switzerland, building musical bridges from Basel to Graubünden to Geneva. Its aim is to overcome not just language barriers, but also prejudices against classical music.

The exciting, innovative concert programmes of the Swiss Orchestra aim to generate enthusiasm among a broad public for all kinds of orchestral music. Its aim is to rediscover forgotten, barely acknowledged Swiss composers from the Classical and Romantic periods. The Swiss Orchestra wants to make these unknown facets of Swiss history accessible once more to a broad audience by presenting programmes that place rare Swiss works alongside well-known masterpieces of
the world repertoire. With its nationwide presence and its focus on “Swiss symphonic music”, the Swiss Orchestra has a unique selling point on today’s orchestral landscape.

The Swiss Orchestra has established itself on the orchestral landscape in a very short space of time. Together with soloists such as Heinz Holliger (oboe), Vivian Chassot (accordion), Oliver Schnyder (piano), Marie-Claude Chappuis (mezzo-soprano), Alina Pogostkina, Michael Barenboim (violin) and Bernhard Russ (narrator), the Swiss Orchestra has performed at the Zurich Tonhalle, the Casino de Montbenon in Lausanne, the St. Gallen Tonhalle, the Bern Casino, the Victoria Hall in Geneva, the Stadtcasino Basel and the Andermatt Concert Hall. The orchestra’s first foreign tour took it to Madrid (Auditorio Nacional de España) and San Sebastián (Kursaal) in 2022.

Concerts

Sunday, 1.1.2023
16:30

Profilbild Swiss Orchestra

Swiss Orchestra

In Andermatt – dem berühmten Knotenpunkt am Gotthard und damit prädestinierten Ort für den Kulturaustausch inmitten der Schweizer Alpen – hat das Swiss Orchestra 2022 als Residenzorchester der Andermatt Konzerthalle seine Heimstätte bezogen. Das Swiss Orchestra setzt sich aus erstklassigen Instrumentalist*innen angesehener Sinfonie- und Kammerformationen im Alter zwischen ca. 25 und 45 Jahren zusammen. Der dynamische Klangkörper versteht sich als Orchester für die ganze Schweiz. Von Basel bis Graubünden und Genf baut es musikalische Brücken. Hierbei sollen jedoch nicht nur Sprachbarrieren, sondern auch Vorurteile gegenüber klassischer Musik überwunden werden.

Die mitreissenden und innovativen Konzertprogramme des Swiss Orchestra wecken bei einer breiten Öffentlichkeit Begeisterung für Orchestermusik in ihrer Vielfalt. Ziel ist es, vergessenen und kaum beachtete Schweizer Komponisten der Klassik und Romantik neu zu entdecken. Das Swiss Orchestra macht diese unbekannten Facetten der Schweizer Geschichte für ein breites Publikum wieder erlebbar und kombiniert Schweizer Trouvaillen mit bekannten Meisterwerken der Weltliteratur.

Mit seiner schweizweiten Präsenz und seinem programmatischen Schwerpunkt «Schweizer Sinfonik» besitzt der Klangkörper ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal und hat in kürzester Zeit seinen Platz in der Orchesterlandschaft gefunden. Gemeinsam mit Solist*innen wie Heinz Holliger (Oboe), Vivian Chassot (Akkordeon), Oliver Schnyder (Klavier), Marie-Claude Chappuis (Mezzosopran), Alina Pogostkina (Violine), Michael Barenboim (Violine) oder Bernhard Russi (Erzähler) sind sie in der Tonhalle Zürich, im Casino de Montbenon Lausanne, in der Tonhalle St. Gallen, im Casino Bern, in der Victoria Hall Genf, im Stadtcasino Basel und der Konzerthalle Andermatt aufgetreten. Die erste Auslandstour führte das Orchester 2022 nach Madrid (Auditorio Nacional de España) sowie nach San Sebastián (Kursaal).

Konzerte

Sonntag, 1.1.2023
16:30