Friday, 21.10.2022
7.30 pm

Jerusalem Chamber Music Festival Ensemble

Chamber Music

Jerusalem Chamber Music Festival Ensemble

Michael Barenboim, violin
Yamen Saadi, violin
Gerard Caussé, viola
Sara Ferrandez, viola
Astrig Siranossian, cello
Ivan Karizna, cello
Nabil Shehata, double bass
Karl-Heinz Steffens, clarinet
Elena Bashkirova, piano

Of dogs and nightingales. Elena Bashkirova (piano) and her Jerusalem Chamber Music Festival Ensemble present works by Rossini and Brahms.

Prices: CHF 135 / 105 / 85 / 60

Programme

Gioachino Rossini (1792–1868):
Sonata No. 3 a Quattro for 2 violins, violoncello and double bass

Johannes Brahms (1833–1897):
Trio in a minor for piano, clarinet and violoncello, op. 114

Johannes Brahms:
String Sextet No. 2 in G major, op. 36

About the programme

If you’re setting out from Italian-speaking Canton Ticino, you can reach Andermatt by Swiss Postbus over the Gotthard Pass. And if you listen carefully as you drive through the alpine mountain world, you’ll hear the famous horn signal of the Postbus that has become a kind of acoustic trademark of Switzerland – that’s also why the horn is removed when old busses are sold off to people abroad. This sequence of notes – basically just a simple triad – is in fact taken from the Overture to Gioachino Rossini’s opera “Guillaume Tell”, whose action is set in Canton Uri and relates the liberation struggle of the Swiss under the legendary figure of William Tell.

Rossini is best known for the 39 operas that he composed in just under 20 years. In our first chamber music concert with the Jerusalem Chamber Music Festival Ensemble under the direction of Elena Bashkirova, you can also hear one of Rossini’s six String Sonatas, which are among the very few instrumental works that he wrote until he returned to instrumental composition in his late years. He composed these Sonatas at the age of just 12, at the time that he began taking composition lessons. Many years later, he wrote on his manuscript: “Six ghastly sonatas”. This merciless self-assessment is difficult for us to comprehend, because these works demonstrate perfect craftsmanship while exuding a melodious charm that is full of wit, originality and youthful zest.

Rossini complained about the musicians who performed these early sonatas, claiming that they had played “like dogs”, though he by no means excluded himself (he had played the second violin), writing that “by God, I was not the least doglike among them”. By contrast, when Johannes Brahms wrote his four late works for clarinet, he used a much friendlier animal comparison to describe the musician who played them: their dedicatee, the clarinettist Richard Mühlefeld, was in Brahms’s opinion the “nightingale of the orchestra”. It was he who prompted Brahms in 1891 to abandon his hitherto resolution to cease composing after his String Quintet op. 111. Inspired by Mühlfeld’s clarinet playing, Brahms composed this Piano Trio in a minor that is today considered prototypical for the composer’s late style: “The music appears as if bathed in a mellow light, and a serenity and calmness prevail that seem like a gentle farewell to the world”. This concert will be rounded off with Brahms’s Second String Sextet, op. 36, which was one of the first chamber music works for strings that he published.

Subscription

A subscription for ANDERMATT MUSIC gives you direct access to regular classical events in Switzerland’s highest-lying concert hall, and means you don’t have to miss any highlights.

About us

ANDERMATT MUSIC stands for high-quality music events off the beaten track, and convinces through its innovative, versatile concert programming.

FAQ

Do you have any questions about purchasing tickets, subscriptions, travel or staying at the Andermatt Concert Hall? Here you will find answers to frequently asked questions.

Freitag, 21.10.2022
19.30 Uhr

Jerusalem Chamber Music Festival Ensemble

Kammermusik

Jerusalem Chamber Music Festival Ensemble

Michael Barenboim, Violine
Yamen Saadi, Violine
Gerard Caussé, Viola
Sara Ferrandez, Viola
Astrig Siranossian, Cello
Ivan Karizna, Cello
Nabil Shehata, Kontrabass
Karl-Heinz Steffens, Klarinette
Elena Bashkirova, Klavier

Von Hunden und Nachtigallen. Elena Bashkirova (Klavier) präsentiert mit ihrem Jerusalem Chamber Music Festival Ensemble Werke von Rossini und Brahms.

Preise: CHF 135 / 105 / 85 / 60

Programm

Gioachino Rossini (1792–1868):
Sonata Nr. 3 a Quattro für 2 Violinen, Violoncello und Kontrabass

Johannes Brahms (1833–1897):
Trio in a-Moll für Klavier, Klarinette und Violoncello op. 114

Johannes Brahms:
Streichsextett Nr. 2 in G-Dur op. 36

Über das Programm

Vom Tessin aus kann Andermatt mit dem Postauto über den Gotthardpass erreicht werden. Mit etwas Glück hört man bei der Fahrt durch die alpine Bergwelt den berühmten Warnruf des Postautos, der zu einem tönenden Markenzeichen der Schweiz geworden ist, weshalb das Horn beim Weiterverkauf von ausrangierten Fahrzeugen ins Ausland ausgebaut wird. Die Tonfolge – die im Grunde genommen ein einfacher Dreiklang ist – entstammt der Ouvertüre von Gioachino Rossinis Oper Guillaume Tell, deren Handlung im Kanton Uri spielt und den Befreiungskampf unter dem sagenhaften Wilhelm Tell behandelt.

Bekannt geworden ist Rossini insbesondere durch seine 39 Opern, die er in knapp 20 Jahren schuf. Im ersten Kammermusikkonzert des Jerusalem Chamber Music Festival Ensemble um Elena Bashkirova erklingt mit einer von sechs Streichersonaten hingegen eines der wenigen instrumentalen Werke Rossinis (vor seinem Spätwerk). Die Stücke schrieb er im Alter von 12 Jahren, als er mit dem ersten Kompositionsunterricht begonnen hatte. Auf das Manuskript schrieb der Komponist viele Jahre später: «Sechs schreckliche Sonaten». Diese gnadenlose Selbsteinschätzung ist nicht nachvollziehbar, versprühen die Werke doch einen melodiösen Charme voller Witz, Eigenständigkeit und jugendlicher Frische bei handwerklicher Perfektion.

Während Rossini über die Musiker der Aufführung seiner Sonaten schrieb, sie hätten gespielt «wie Hunde», wobei er selbst sich an der zweiten Geige «bei Gott nicht am wenigsten wie ein Hund benahm», fand Johannes Brahms einen sehr viel freundlicheren, tierischen Vergleich: Er adelte den Klarinettisten und Widmungsträger seiner vier späten Klarinettenwerke als die «Nachtigall des Orchesters». Und so rückte Brahms 1891 von seinem Vorsatz ab, nach dem Streichquintett op. 111 nicht mehr zu komponieren. Durch Mühlfelds Klarinettenklang inspiriert, entstand ein Trio in a-Moll, das als Prototyp des Brahmsschen Spätwerkes gilt: «Die Musik erscheint wie in ein mildes Licht getaucht, es herrschen eine Abgeklärtheit und Stille, die wie ein sanftes Adieu an die Welt wirken.» Abgerundet wird das Konzert mit Brahms’ zweitem Streichsextett op. 36, das zu den ersten kammermusikalischen Werken für Streicher gehört, die der Komponist veröffentlichte.

Abonnements

Mit einem Abonnement für ANDERMATT MUSIC kommen Sie ganz einfach zu regelmässigen Klassikerlebnissen in der Andermatt Konzerthalle und verpassen kein Highlight mehr.

Über uns

ANDERMATT MUSIC steht für qualitativ hochwertigen Musikgenuss jenseits festgetretener Pfade und überzeugt durch innovative und vielseitige Konzerterlebnisse.

FAQ

Sie haben Fragen zum Ticketkauf, den Abonnements, zur Anreise oder zum Aufenthalt in der Andermatt Konzerthalle? Hier erhalten Sie Antworten auf häufig gestellte Fragen.