Profilbild Luzia von Wyl

Luzia von Wyl Ensemble

Strings, woodwind and a rhythm section: the instrumental line-up of this ten-member ensemble is as extraordinary as the music of its bandleader, Luzia von Wyl.

This Swiss pianist and composer has made an international name for herself with her ten-piece contemporary jazz orchestra, the Luzia von Wyl Ensemble. She composes all the works played by her Ensemble, and she herself sits at the piano for their concerts. Luzia von Wyl also regularly writes to commission for a wide variety of musicians, ensembles and orchestras. She is currently composing works for the Zurich Chamber Orchestra with Till Brönner, and for Bösendorfer in Vienna.

“This Swiss composer has her very own style – so convincing, thrilling and exhilarating that comparisons are superfluous”, wrote the German magazine Jazzthetik. And after the Ensemble’s debut at the Lucerne Festival, the Luzerner Zeitung wrote: “An airy sound, brilliant virtuosity, minimalist elements and a really special groove: Luzia von Wyl’s well-nigh inexhaustible inspiration pulsates through all these pieces. This is great art”.

And indeed, it is truly an experience to hear these ingeniously crafted compositions live – not least on account of the nine highly expressive musicians for whom Luzia von Wyl writes her tailor-made works. Their audience experiences at first hand their interaction, emotions and sheer joy in playing – all of which are hallmarks of the concerts given by the Luzia von Wyl Ensemble.

The Ensemble was founded ten years ago as a composing workshop. Meanwhile, the Ensemble today plays at festivals all across Europe and beyond, such as at the Swiss Days in Dubai (UAE), the Lucerne Festival (CH), the Schaffhausen Jazz Festival (CH), the Mosel Festival Trier (DE) and the London New Wind Festival (UK). Up to now, the Ensemble has also released two studio albums, both of which received much international acclaim: Frost in 2014 and Throwing Coins in 2018, both released on the HatHut Records label.

Line-Up:
Luzia von Wyl, piano and compositions
Roman Glaser, flute
Nicola Katz, clarinet
Marcel Lüscher, bass clarinet
Maurus Conte, bassoon
Vincent Millioud, violin
Karolina Öhman, cello
Christoph Utzinger, double bass
Luca Staffelbach, marimba
Lionel Friedli, percussion

Concerts

Profilbild Luzia von Wyl

Luzia von Wyl Ensemble

Streicher, Holzbläser und eine Rhythm Section: So aussergewöhnlich die Besetzung dieses zehnköpfigen Ensembles, so aussergewöhnlich die Musik dessen Bandleaderin Luzia von Wyl.

Die Schweizer Pianistin und Komponistin machte sich mit ihrem zehnköpfigen Contemporary Jazz Orchestra, dem Luzia von Wyl Ensemble, international einen Namen. Sämtliche Kompositionen des Orchesters stammen aus ihrer Feder, und auf der Bühne sitzt sie selbst am Klavier. Zusätzlich schreibt Luzia von Wyl regelmässig Auftragswerke für verschiedenste Musiker, Ensembles und Orchester, aktuell für das Zürcher Kammerorchester mit Till Brönner und Bösendorfer Wien.

«Die Schweizerin besitzt als Komponistin ihre ganz eigene Handschrift – so überzeugend, mitreissend und beglückend, dass Vergleiche überflüssig sind», schreibt das deutsche Magazin Jazzthetik, und die Luzerner Zeitung berichtet nach dem Debut des Ensembles am Lucerne Festival: «Luftiger Sound, brillante Virtuosität, minimalistische Elemente und ein ganz besonderer Groove: Durch alle Stücke hindurch pulsiert Luzia von Wyls schier unerschöpflicher Einfallsreichtum. Das ist grosse Kunst.»

Tatsächlich ist es ein Erlebnis, sich die raffiniert kreierten Kompositionen live anzuhören – nicht zuletzt auch aufgrund der neun charakterstarken Musiker, denen Luzia von Wyl ihre Stücke auf den Leib komponiert. Interaktion, Emotionen und Spielfreude werden hautnah erlebbar und zeichnen die Konzerte des Luzia von Wyl Ensembles aus.

Vor 10 Jahren als Kompositionswerkstatt gegründet, spielt das Ensemble inzwischen an Festivals in ganz Europa, so z.B. schon an den Swiss Days Dubai (UAE), dem Lucerne Festival (CH), dem Schaffhauser Jazz Festival (CH), dem Mosel Festival Trier (DE) oder dem London New Wind Festival (UK). Bis anhin veröffentlichte das Ensemble ausserdem zwei Studioalben, die beide international für grosse Anerkennung sorgten: «Frost» im Jahr 2014 und «Throwing Coins» im Jahr 2018, beide erschienen bei HatHut Records.

Line-Up:

Luzia von Wyl, Klavier & Kompositionen
Roman Glaser, Flöte
Nicola Katz, Klarinette
Marcel Lüscher, Bassklarinette
Maurus Conte, Fagott
Vincent Millioud, Violine
Karolina Öhman, Violoncello
Christoph Utzinger, Kontrabass
Luca Staffelbach, Marimba
Lionel Friedli, Schlagzeug

Konzerte