Saturday, 12.3.2022
7.30 pm

Luzia von Wyl Ensemble

CLASSICAL-INSPIRED JAZZ

The Luzia von Wyl Ensemble will present pieces from their new CD for the first-ever time. There is surely nowhere better for this new mountain programme of the Luzia von Wyl Ensemble than Andermatt, in the highest concert hall in Switzerland!

Prices: CHF 90 / 75 / 60 / 45
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email
Share on whatsapp

Programme

Luzia von Wyl (*1985)
Works from their third studio album

About the programme

The bandleader and composer Luzia von Wyl describes her classically influenced jazz style as “rhythmic, melodious, sometimes dissonant too, but nevertheless catchy”.

The Luzia von Wyl Ensemble will be offering a new programme in Andermatt, performed here for the first time. It will be a preview of their third studio album, and it is dedicated to the spectacular Swiss Alps. From a thunderstorm on an alpine summit to a Sunday ramble under a blue sky: the mountain world with its different moods is as varied as this music with its shifting tone colours. Inspired by the peace and seclusion that you can only experience on a hike at high altitude, soundscapes here emerge to create powerful mood images, and sometimes even recall concrete sounds from up in the mountains – is that cowbells we can hear? Or a mountain railway?

With her piece “Funicular”, Luzia von Wyl has actually created a homage to the Swiss mountain railways: “I’m a fan! How crazy the Swiss were, to think of building a little railway to every summit! That’s a great cultural heritage. Everyone can imagine the rhythmic noises when such a train arrives, and how they change when it passes over a bridge or through a tunnel”. Here, you can truly hear the train rattling along towards us – the drums and marimba intertwining to create a groove – and you feel as though you’d just love to jump on yourself.

In “Thunder”, as the title suggests, we also get to hear a metal thunder sheet. We can hear the hiss of lightning and the raging of the storm while the bass clarinet sets off on a wild improvisation. The piece “Mulino” provides a stark contrast with its calm, repetitive, basic motif. Its melancholy melody on the flute culminates in an impressive violin improvisation. The other pieces in this new programme are also strong in character. Each one of them brings a different instrument to the fore, and sometimes only two of them play, instead of the full complement of ten.

In this new programme, the focus is constantly on the mountain world as depicted in music. Sometimes it’s rhythmic and raw, at other times replete with filigree melodies; sometimes it’s brilliantly composed, at others virtuosically improvised. There is surely nowhere better suited to this new mountain programme of the Luzia von Wyl Ensemble than Andermatt, in the highest concert hall in Switzerland!

These mountain pieces are rounded off with classics from the Luzia von Wyl Ensemble’s older repertoire. Just wait and see what surprises are in store!

Subscription

A subscription for ANDERMATT MUSIC gives you direct access to regular classical events in Switzerland’s highest-lying concert hall, and means you don’t have to miss any highlights.

About us

ANDERMATT MUSIC stands for high-quality music events off the beaten track, and convinces through its innovative, versatile concert programming.

FAQ

Do you have any questions about purchasing tickets, subscriptions, travel or staying at the Andermatt Concert Hall? Here you will find answers to frequently asked questions.

Samstag, 12.3.2022
19.30 Uhr

Luzia von Wyl Ensemble

CLASSICAL-INSPIRED JAZZ

Das Luzia von Wyl Ensemble präsentiert erstmals Stücke ihrer neuen CD. Wohin könnte das Bergprogramm des Ensembles besser passen als nach Andermatt mit seinem höchstgelegenen Konzertsaal der Schweiz?

Preise: CHF 90 / 75 / 60 / 45
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email
Share on whatsapp

Programm

Luzia von Wyl (*1985)
Werke aus dem dritten Studioalbum

Über das Programm

Als «rhythmisch, melodiös, auch mal dissonant und trotzdem eingängig» beschreibt die Bandleaderin und Komponistin Luzia von Wyl ihre von klassischen Einflüssen geprägte Jazzsprache.

Das in Andermatt erstmals aufgeführte, neue Programm ihres Luzia von Wyl Ensembles – eine Vorpremiere des dritten Studioalbums – ist der eindrücklichen Schweizer Bergwelt gewidmet. Von einem Gewitter auf dem Gipfel bis hin zur Sonntagswanderung unter blauem Himmel: so vielseitig die Bergwelt mit ihren unterschiedlichen Stimmungen, so mannigfaltig die Musik mit ihren wechselnden Klangfarben. Inspiriert von der Ruhe und Abgeschiedenheit, die man so nur auf einer Wanderung in der Höhe erlebt, entstehen Klanglandschaften, die starke Stimmungsbilder erzeugen und teilweise sogar an konkrete Geräusche aus den Bergen erinnern – sind da etwa Kuhglocken zu hören? Oder eine Bergbahn?

Mit dem Stück «Funicular» hat Luzia von Wyl den Schweizer Bergbahnen tatsächlich eine Hommage gewidmet: «Ich bin ein Fan! Wie verrückt waren die Schweizer, auf jeden Gipfel ein Bähnli zu bauen? Das ist ein grosses Kulturerbe! Jede*r kann sich das rhythmische Geräusch vorstellen, wenn eine solche Bahn angefahren kommt, und wie es sich verändert, wenn eine Brücke befahren wird oder ein Tunnel.» Wahrlich hört man dieses Bähnli heranrattern – Schlagzeug und Marimba verflechten sich zu einem Groove – am liebsten würde man einsteigen.

Im Stück «Thunder» kommt denn, wie es der Name verspricht, auch ein grosses Donnerblech zum Einsatz. Man hört Blitze zischen und den Sturm toben, während die Bassklarinette zu einer wilden Improvisation ansetzt. Ein starker Kontrast dazu ist mit seinem ruhigen, repetitiven Grundmotiv das Stück «Mulino», dessen melancholische Melodie, gespielt von der Flöte, in eine eindrückliche Geigenimprovisation mündet. Auch die weiteren Stücke des neuen Programms sind charakterstark: Jedes rückt ein anderes Instrument in den Vordergrund und manchmal spielen statt alle zehn auch nur zwei davon.

Immer steht in diesem neuen Programm die in Musik gefasste Bergwelt im Fokus. Mal rhythmisch und roh, mal filigran melodiös, mal brillant komponiert, dann wieder virtuos improvisiert: Wohin könnte das neue Bergprogramm des Luzia von Wyl Ensembles besser passen als nach Andermatt mit seinem höchstgelegenen Konzertsaal der Schweiz?

Abgerundet werden die Bergstücke mit Klassikern aus dem älteren Repertoire des Luzia von Wyl Ensembles: Lassen Sie sich überraschen!

Abonnements

Mit einem Abonnement für ANDERMATT MUSIC kommen Sie ganz einfach zu regelmässigen Klassikerlebnissen in der Andermatt Konzerthalle und verpassen kein Highlight mehr.

Über uns

ANDERMATT MUSIC steht für qualitativ hochwertigen Musikgenuss jenseits festgetretener Pfade und überzeugt durch innovative und vielseitige Konzerterlebnisse.

FAQ

Sie haben Fragen zum Ticketkauf, den Abonnements, zur Anreise oder zum Aufenthalt in der Andermatt Konzerthalle? Hier erhalten Sie Antworten auf häufig gestellte Fragen.