Saturday, 27.5.2023
7.30 pm

Piotr Beczala

Gala Concert

Swiss Orchestra
Lena-Lisa Wüstendörfer, conductor
Piotr Beczala, tenor
Sylvia D’Eramo, soprano

Star tenor Piotr Beczala and lyric soprano Sylvia D’Eramo sing works by Giuseppe Verdi, Giacomo Puccini, Jules Massenet and others. They will be accompanied by the Swiss Orchestra.

Prices: CHF 160 / 125 / 90 / 65

Programme

Works by Giuseppe Verdi, Giacomo Puccini, Jules Massenet and other things

About the programme

Gripping drama, simple elegance, noble restraint, poignant melodiousness, and existential passion: the star lyric tenor Piotr Beczala knows how to enchant his enthusiastic audiences with the captivating presence and heartrending beauty of his voice.

This exceptional Swiss-Polish tenor is at home on the world’s great stages, from Vienna to New York, Milan and Berlin, and he will be a guest in Andermatt on 27 May. The programme of his opera gala will include arias by Giuseppe Verdi, Giacomo Puccini and Jules Massenet. You can experience one of the greatest singers in his field, live with the Swiss Orchestra under the baton of Lena-Lisa Wüstendörfer, and be there when Piotr Beczala and his colleagues transform the Andermatt Concert Hall into an operatic stage.

Piotr Beczala likes to describe himself as an “all-purpose” tenor, emphasising how his career has taken him from singing in the streets to the most important opera houses of the world. For him, the music comes first: “Whether I’m singing on stage or in the studio, it’s not about the notes I have to sing. Because I have to become Lohengrin [in Richard Wagner’s opera], or Cavaradossi [in Puccini’s “Tosca”] or Calàf [in Puccini’s “Turandot”]. And they don’t know that they have to sing a high B or C. It’s simply how they express themselves. There are tenors who make a spectacle out of these high notes. But I’m not a fan of that. […] When you sing such notes effortlessly, it can seem unspectacular, but that is precisely what is most spectacular for those who really know about singing: this complete concentration on the score and presenting all its emotions”. It is this determination to put himself at the service of the music, and his modesty in taking a step back, that make Piotr Beczala such a sympathetic figure – someone with his feet firmly on the ground – and also such an excellent musician.

Subscription

A subscription for ANDERMATT MUSIC gives you direct access to regular classical events in Switzerland’s highest-lying concert hall, and means you don’t have to miss any highlights.

About us

ANDERMATT MUSIC stands for high-quality music events off the beaten track, and convinces through its innovative, versatile concert programming.

FAQ

Do you have any questions about purchasing tickets, subscriptions, travel or staying at the Andermatt Concert Hall? Here you will find answers to frequently asked questions.

Samstag, 27.5.2023
19.30 Uhr

Piotr Beczala

Galakonzert

Swiss Orchestra
Lena-Lisa Wüstendörfer, Leitung
Piotr Beczala, Tenor
Sylvia D’Eramo, Sopran

Startenor Piotr Beczala und die lyrische Sopranistin Sylvia D’Eramo singen Arien u.a. von Giuseppe Verdi, Giacomo Puccini und Jules Massenet. Begleitet werden sie dabei vom Swiss Orchestra.

Preise: CHF 160 / 125 / 90 / 65

Programm

Arien u.a. von Giuseppe Verdi, Giacomo Puccini und Jules Massenet

Über das Programm

Ergreifende Dramatik, schlichte Eleganz, vornehme Zurückhaltung, berührender Schmelz, existenzielle Leidenschaft: Mit seiner Stimme – bestechend durch ihre Präsenz und herzzerreissend in ihrer Schönheit – verzaubert der lyrische Startenor Piotr Beczala sein begeistertes Publikum.

Von Wien bis New York, von Mailand bis Berlin auf den grossen Bühnen der Welt zu Hause, ist der polnisch-schweizerische Ausnahmekünstler am 27. Mai zu Gast in Andermatt. Auf dem Programm der Operngala stehen Arien u.a. von Giuseppe Verdi, Giacomo Puccini und Jules Massenet. Erleben Sie einen der Grössten seines Fachs gemeinsam mit dem Swiss Orchestra unter der Leitung von Lena-Lisa Wüstendörfer live und seien Sie dabei, wenn die Musiker*innen um Piotr Beczala die Andermatt Konzerthalle in eine Opernbühne verwandeln.

Für Piotr Beczala, der sich selbst als «Allzweckwaffe» bezeichnet und über den Verlauf seiner Karriere sagt, sie habe ihn vom Strassensänger in die bedeutendsten Opernhäuser der Welt geführt, steht die Musik Vordergrund: «Egal ob ich auf der Bühne oder im Studio singe, es geht mir nicht darum, welche Töne ich zu singen habe. Denn dann bin ich Lohengrin [in Richard Wagners gleichnamiger Oper], Cavaradossi [in Puccinis «Tosca»] oder Calàf [in Puccinis «Turandot»]. Der aber weiss nicht, dass er ein hohes H oder C zu singen hat. Für ihn ist es seine Art, sich auszudrücken. Es gibt Tenöre, die aus diesen hohen Tönen ein Spektakel machen. Ich bin kein Anhänger davon. […] Wenn man solche Töne mühelos singt, erscheint es unspektakulär, aber gerade das ist für jene, die wirklich wissen, wie man singt, das Spektakulärste: die komplette Konzentration auf die Partitur und damit die Präsentation aller Emotionen.» Dieser Wille, sich in den Dienst der Musik stellen, und diese Bescheidenheit, sich persönlich zurückzunehmen sind es, die Piotr Beczala zu einer sympathischen Musikerpersönlichkeit mit Bodenhaftung und zu einem exzellenten Interpreten machen.

Abonnements

Mit einem Abonnement für ANDERMATT MUSIC kommen Sie ganz einfach zu regelmässigen Klassikerlebnissen in der Andermatt Konzerthalle und verpassen kein Highlight mehr.

Über uns

ANDERMATT MUSIC steht für qualitativ hochwertigen Musikgenuss jenseits festgetretener Pfade und überzeugt durch innovative und vielseitige Konzerterlebnisse.

FAQ

Sie haben Fragen zum Ticketkauf, den Abonnements, zur Anreise oder zum Aufenthalt in der Andermatt Konzerthalle? Hier erhalten Sie Antworten auf häufig gestellte Fragen.